Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

General Education Committee (GEC)

Welcome to the website of the Saginaw Valley State University General Education Committee (GEC). This is one of four university academic standing committees established by the SVSU Faculty Contract.

2017-18 Committee Members

Member Seat
Andrew Chubb Chair
Teresa Beadlescomb Health & Human Services
David Callejo Pérez Associate Provost
Tony Crachiola Science, Engineering & Technology
Rob Drew Arts & Humanities
Nameeta Mathur Social Sciences
Christopher Surfield Business & Management
Scott Youngstedt Education
McKenna Ciner  Student Representative

Please see to access the online curriculum management process.

Committee Charge

The GEC shall have overall responsibility for the General Education Program, and for maintaining the quality of the program. This includes but is not limited to the approval (within the overall curriculum process), implementation and ongoing evaluation of courses to be offered for General Education credit; and the assessment of the overall program.