Social Media Task Force

The opportunities provided to the University by social media in terms of reaching its various constituents are manifold. In Fall 2013, a task force of 16 was convened by President Eric Gilbertson to identify the best social media practices for recruitment and retention of student, engagement of alumni and community members, and strategic marketing and communication initiatives. More detail of its goals and charge are identified in the Social Media Committee Outline (81kB)

Task Force Members

  • Bryan Atkinson, assistant controller
  • Jenna Briggs, director of Graduate Admissions
  • Justin Engel, communications specialist
    (co-chair of Communications committee)
  • Rachel Florence-Spaetzel, director of Orientation Programs
  • Sherrin Frances, assistant professor of English
  • Kate Hendershot, assistant director of Admissions
  • Kimberly Lacey, assistant professor of English
  • Holly LaRose-Roenicke, assistant director of Web Communications
    (chair of Governance committee)
  • Laura Peil, project coordinator and information specialist
  • Ann Schneider-Branch, assistant to the Executive Director of the SVSU Foundation
  • Andretta Smith, resource manager/compliance officer, University Police
  • Alexandra Straley, resident life director
  • Jason Swackhamer, director of Web Communications (chair)
    (chair of Marketing committee)
  • Nick Wagner, special assistant to the Vice President for Enrollment Management
    (co-chair of Communications committee)
  • Carolyn Wierda, interim associate dean (College of Education), executive in residence