OLLI Interest Groups

Over the years, we have learned that people join OLLI for two  major reasons. The first is the opportunity to learn new things, but a secondary, and sometimes more important reason, is the opportunity to meet new friends who have similar interest.  Our Interest Groups bring together members who have similar interests or hope to meet others socially.

How to Start an Interest Group

From time to time we hear that our members would like an Interest Group on a given topic. The first step of the process is to find a group leader.  This is the person who communicates with the group members, and works with the OLLI office to secure a meeting place. If you are interested in leading a group, or want to learn more about the process, contact Jo Brownlie at (989)964-4310 or email her at jap@svsu.edu.

OLLI Interest Group Contacts

Interest GroupCoordinator(s)PhoneEmail 
Board Games  Ted Mclaughlin  (989)790-9587  tshorty@chartermi.net    (more info)
Bridge  Matt Skowronski  (989)684-6402  northpoleski@peoplepc.com  
   Marilyn Bechtel  (989)894-1089  marilynbechtel@gmail.com  
 Buddhist Psychology  Dr. Eric DeVos  (989)964-4329  devos@svsu.edu  
 Choral Singing  Rose Kohut  (989)790-1883  obsessedreader@hotmail.com  
 Cross Country Skiing  Karol Walker  (989)423-4889  karolw2986@gmail.com  
 Current Events  Carol Gohm  (989)574-5862  cgohm47@gmail.com  
 Cycling  Linda Ackerman  (989)781-2961  lmackerman50@gmail.com (more info)
 Dinner  Deborah Bula  (989)781-1126  dbretired610@gmail.com  
Esoteric Cosmology Wayne O'Brien (989)686-0475 woobrien@tm.net  
 Euchre  Ruth Skeebo  (989)631-1183  rskee42@chartermi.net  
 Gardening  Crystal Kauer  (989)792-6874  cmkauer@chartermi.net  
 Kayaking  Dan Dauer  (989)753-6038  dauerhome@juno.com  
 Knitting  Barb Weadock  (989)792-8839  barb@weadock.net  
 Lunch  Rita Grasso  (989)781-4725  ritaolli11@yahoo.com  
 MahJongg  Catherine Young  (989)327-1050  clyoung00@yahoo.com  
 Music Collrgium  Eric Nisula  (989)964-4307  epn@svsu.edu  
 Ping Pong  Carol Lagalo  (989)752-9857  lagaloc@yahoo.com  
 Readers Theatre  Rose Kohut  (989)790-1883  obsessedreader@hotmail.com  
 Recreational Cycling  Vicki Shrope  (989)615-0317  vshrope@yahoo.com  
 Stamp Collecting  Robert Bula  (989)781-1126    
 Technology  Terry King  (989)714-4408  terry@actionleaders.com  
 Theatre  Bonnie Rowell  (989)799-3102  bjrowell43@yahoo.com  
 Walking  Mike Michaels  (989)799-5090  mikem24108@live.com