Skip to main content Skip to footer
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

Why Study Music at SVSU?

Saginaw Valley State University offers unique opportunities for students majoring in music or music education, including:

  • Financial value:  lowest tuition of any Michigan state university
  • Scholarships available specifically for music and music education students
  • All courses are taught by faculty (no TAs)
  • Extensive performing opportunities for undergraduates
  • Advising by full-time music faculty
  • Personal attention, small class sizes
  • State-of-the-art music technology lab
  • Music education faculty that are also active as directors/performers
  • World-class recital hall

 Additionally, we have had graduates continue with their studies at the masters and doctoral level at such institutions as Roosevelt University, University of Wisconsin (Madison) , Rutgers University, and the University of North Texas. Currently, we have recent graduates teaching music at the following schools or districts:

  • Shane Billingsley (Hale Public Schools)
  • Jack Fults (Boyne Academy)
  • Tyler Morse (Lapeer MS/HS)
  • Courtney Vanderveen (Ogemaw Heights)
  • Brandon Jerashen (Tawas Area Public Schools)
  • Emerald Joiner (Bay City Public Schools)
  • Nathan Swain (St. Charles Public Schools)
  • Ellie Frazier (Notre Dame Prep Marist Academy)
  • Nicholas Remesz (Durand Public Schools)
  • Chelsea Lagalo (Merrill Public Schools)
  • Aaron Aikens (Unionville-Sebewaing Area Schools)
  • Katelyn (Coulouris) Aikens (Unionville-Sebewaing Area Schools)
  • Scott Tuttle (Carrollton Public Schools)
  • Vanessa Newman-Witham (Clio Area Schools)
  • Bethany Britt (Brighton Area Schools)
  • Nicholas Chernich (Ogemaw Heights High School)
  • Dustin Vanderveer (Bay City Public Schools)
  • Jeremiah Kraniak (Saginaw Choral Society)
  • Drew Parent (University of Toledo)
  • Kelsey Hathaway (Midland Public Schools)
  • Matt Corrigan (Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy - Saginaw Public Schools)
  • Steve Rodriguez (Saginaw Township Schools)
  • Emily Simmermacher (Saginaw Township Schools)
  • Ellen Goff (St. Thomas Aquinas - Saginaw Area Catholic Schools)
  • Donovan Tear (Holly Public Schools)
  • Shana (Hiser) Betrus (Cadillac Public Schools)
  • Brandon Deike (Forest Area Community Schools)
  • Bradley Fergin (Saginaw Arts and Sciences Academy)
  • Michael Richards (Bay City Public Schools)
  • Emily (Zollinger) Williamson (Carrollton Public Schools)
  • Sarah (Bernia) Turschak (St. Anthony School of Milwaukee)