meta sv spg

Scholarships and Prizes

Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship  

The English Department is proud to coordinate the annual Seitz Creative Writing Scholarship. The scholarship was created by Jim and Melissa Seitz to acknowledge excellence in the writing of poetry and/or fiction. A graduate of SVSU, Melissa Seitz is a retired member of the English Department much respected by her students and colleagues. The scholarship recipient typically receives $1,000, with the award split between the upcoming fall and winter semesters.

Scholarship (129kB) 2014 Seitz (127kB)


Robert S. P. Yien First Year Writing Awards

The Robert S.P. Yien First Year Writing Awards showcase outstanding work by first year composition students in ENGL 080 and 111. Papers are judged by a committee comprised of the First Year Writng Coordinator and selected English Department faculty.





Past Seitz Winners

Danielle Rohac (2011-12)

Kirsten McIlvenna (2010-2011)

Blair Giesken (2008-09)

Matthew Falk (2007-08)

2013 Robert S.P. Yien Writing Awards Winners

Download 2013 Robert S.P. Yien Writing Awards Winners (PDF 1kb)

Join us!

Keep up to date with events and announcements!