meta sv spg

Administration of Gerstacker Fellowship Programs I & II

Saginaw Valley State University is responsible for the administration of the endowments established by the Rollin M. Gerstacker Foundation consistent with its University Foundation policies.  The University is also responsible for the organization and administration of the Gerstacker Foundation Programs I and II.

The annual investment income earning of the endowments and an annual contribution by the University, to include the allocation of instructional staff and administrative support, provides for all costs associated with the Program.  Therefore, there is no cost involved for Program participants.

The University appoints two Co-Directors who are responsible for the oversight, organization and administration of the Programs.  Mrs. Wierda currently serves as the Executive Director of STEM@SVSU and Co-Director of the Gerstacker Fellowship Program at the University and has served previously as an educator in various instructional and administrative capacities to include her retirement in 2009 as the Superintendent for the Bay City Public Schools, Bay City, Michigan. In addition to serving as a Co-Director for the Gerstacker Fellowship Program, Mr. Kaczynski also serves as the Director of Governmental Affairs at SVSU.  John previously served as the Director of the James A. Barcia Center for Public Policy & Service and as an Assistant Professor of Political Science from 2006 to 2014.


Mrs. Wierda may be contacted by email at:
or by telephone at:(989) 964-7151




Mr. John Kaczynski may be contacted by email at:

or by telephone at:

(989) 964-7481