meta sv spg
Link to feedback form Link to feedback form

The House Family Award for Teacher Impact

The late Mr. Robert J. House endowed this award in memory of his wife, Jeannette. Mr. House became the Executive-in-Residence in the College of Business and Management after retiring from The Dow Chemical Company. Jeanette House had an abiding interest in the arts and humanities. Both of them often reflected on the many benefits they received from the personal attention and caring of one or two faculty members they had in college.

This award annually recognizes the SVSU professor who had the greatest positive impact on a graduate in business, arts, humanities, or education program. This is not an award for excellence in teaching but rather an award for the faculty member who had a significant and positive impact on a student’s life.

SVSU graduates in business, arts, humanities, or education will be contacted by mail to nominate a faculty member for The House Family Award for Teacher Impact. In making a nomination, consider the faculty member whose caring attitude and concern affected you in a profound way that goes beyond teaching. Successful nominations describe that impact in detail.

The submission deadline for the House Family Award is 5:00 pm on Friday, February 2, 2018.

 Past Recipients of the House Family Award for Teacher Impact

Year   Recipient    Department
2018   Warren Fincher   Sociology
2017   Christopher Giroux   English
2016   David Rzeszutek   Theatre
2015   Debbie Lively   Teacher Education - Elementary/Early Childhood
2014   John Kaczynski   Political Science
2013   Bob Pratt   Teacher Education - Elementary/Special Education
 2012   Ricardo Pastor   Modern Foreign Language
2011   Gladys Hernandez   Modern Foreign Language
2010   David Cline   Teacher Education – Elementary/Special Education
2009   Joshua Ode   Kinesiology
2008   Holly Child   Criminal Justice
2007   Drew Hinderer   Philosophy
2006   Mark McCartney   Accounting
2005   Robert Lane   Political Science
2004   Vanessa Brooks Herd   Social Work
2003   Robert Meadows   Education
2002   Susie Emond   Education
2001   Clifford Dorne   Criminal Justice
2000   Joseph Ofori-Dankwa   Management & Marketing
1999   Gary Clark   Management & Marketing
1998   Mary Hedberg   History
1997   Lawrence Kickham   Accounting
1996   David Schneider   Communication & Theatre
1995   Emilio Castaneda   Modern Foreign Language
1994   Marilyn Knight   Accounting
1993   Thomas Renna   History
1992   Kerry Segel   English
1991   Basil Clark   English
1990   Robert Cheek   Management